verify account

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Anyone have a handle on barn lighting?  (Read 245 times)

stablemind

• Administrator
Anyone have a handle on barn lighting?
« on: January 18, 2021, 10:24:33 am »

Our barn was built about 20 years ago. The ceiling fixtures are ceramic sockets with jar covers. (If my terminology isn't right, keep in mind I'm not an electrician.) Apparently those kind of fixtures were already on the way out when we built the barn, and I suspect current building codes don't allow them.

Originally, we used 100 incandescent bulbs, usually the "rough use" kind because hay bales bouncing on the floor above were hard on regular bulbs (and almost as hard on the rough use bulbs). Then we switched to the corkscrew CFLs, which held up slightly better, didn't produce great light and were dim until they warmed up. I hate those things and have had them explode more than once when changing a bulb.

If you look at my attached photo, you will see one fixture with a CFL, another with either an incandescent or LED, I'm not sure which. And the furthest fixture has either a spot or flood bulb leftover from my old kitchen. That bulb is too big for a jar cover.

So my question is: what kind of currently available light bulbs would work best for these fixtures, keeping in mind that the bulbs do take some abuse when hay bales are bouncing around on the 2nd floor and temperatures drop to single digits and below. I think the obvious answer is probably LEDs and if so, is there a specific type of those I should look for? Or is there something better I don't know about?

One last detail - we have replaced a couple of these, using a screw in outlet / receptacle and hanging 4 foot LED shop lights. Those work really well in the barn aisle, but aren't practical or necessary for every fixture.

KysaSD

• Administrator
Re: Anyone have a handle on barn lighting?