Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: My Introduction ...  (Read 349 times)

Pilgrim

My Introduction ...
« on: December 09, 2017, 09:11:02 am »

Hello !
I was researching a particular saddle tree and this site popped up. Looks like a great group of experienced horse folks here!
I am in Michigan, have a new-to-me TWH. Trying to find a good saddle and I've several years of experience working with a saddle fitter. But times are changing - and so are brands and styles.
I'm sure I will learn a great deal here about gaited horse sense ( ) ...  I've owned a few different horses over the years, 2 of which were gaited breeds, but my "heart" horse was a foundation bred QH who crossed the bridge at the age of 28 (almost 29) nearly 2 years ago.

KysaSD

• Administrator
Re: My Introduction ...
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2017, 09:49:33 am »

First welcome to this board.  Yes, lots of folks with lots of experience with Gaited horses.

I am the administrator of this board, but also own a tack store and am a saddle fitter.

The short answer, you need a saddle that fits your horse, and that may or may not be a so called Gaited tree.  Pictures of the horse, as well as pictures of a wither tracing would be helpful.  But still, the best way to know for sure is to try saddles on his back.

For your education on saddle fit, I recommend visiting crestridgesaddlery.com

As a tack store owner, I invite my customers to bring the horse, we try on everything, what they already own, and what I have in the store.  I hope you can find a store like that near you.

TWH.  I see two different body styles in this breed.  One is built very A-frame, steep narrow shoulders and withers.  The other kind is built like a tank, mutton withers and broad through the shoulders.  These two different body shapes will take very different saddle trees.